My Name Is Leon:  A  Novel

My Name Is Leon: A Novel

Book
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
Simon and Schuster
“Taut, emotionally intense, and wholly believable, this beautiful and uplifting debut” (Kirkus Reviews) about a young black boy’s quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care is a sparkling novel perfect for fans of The Language of Flowers.

Leon loves chocolate bars, Saturday morning cartoons, and his beautiful, golden-haired baby brother. When Jake is born, Leon pokes his head in the crib and says, “I’m your brother. Big brother. My. Name. Is. Leon. I am eight and three quarters. I am a boy.” Jake will play with no one but Leon, and Leon is determined to save him from any pain and earn that sparkling baby laugh every chance he can.

But Leon isn’t in control of this world where adults say one thing and mean another. When their mother falls victim to her inner demons, strangers suddenly take Jake away; after all, a white baby is easy to adopt, while a half-black, nine-year-old faces a less certain fate. Vowing to get Jake back by any means necessary, Leon’s own journey will carry him through the lives of a doting but ailing foster mother, Maureen; Maureen’s cranky and hilarious sister, Sylvia; a social worker Leon knows only as “The Zebra”; and a colorful community of local gardeners and West Indian political activists.

Told through the perspective of young Leon, too innocent to entirely understand what has happened to him and baby Jake, but determined to do what he can to make things right. In the end, this is an uplifting story about the power of love, the unbreakable bond between brothers, and the truth about what ultimately makes a family. My Name Is Leon will capture your imagination and steal your heart with its “moving exploration of race and the foster-care system that offers precious insight into the mind of a child forced to grow up well before his time” (Booklist).

Publisher: S&S, 2017
ISBN: 9781501117466
Branch Call Number: O/F

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

u
uncommonreader
Mar 21, 2017

This is a lovely book, told without sentimentality. Leon's voice is very well done. Unfortunately, although there are some kind and caring people, Leon's experience does not correspond to the majority of children in care.

archreads Feb 14, 2017

Told from 9 year old Leon's perspective, this debut takes place in England in the 1970's.
It is a well written and very touching commentary on foster care and multiple social issues. Even with all the obstacles in his path, Leon is very inspirational.

b
Blabbermouth
Feb 03, 2017

Such a great story. Two brothers who end up in foster care, then these boys get parted. Told through the eyes of an 9 year old. It's very touching & insightful. It's a sad story & yet at the same time comforting. We live in a world gone wrong but there is still hope out there. Well done Kit De Waal.

w
WendyT68
Sep 26, 2016

Heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time. Leon's courage and anger are so relatable and you just want to see him reunited with his family.

jabberbooky Sep 23, 2016

Interesting insights into the tricky world of foster care. In this case in England. There is racism, but there is hope also. I especially enjoyed Leon's voice as he describes his life as it happens to him.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top