Because You Love to Hate Me

Because You Love to Hate Me

13 Tales of Villainy

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
A collection of classic fairy tales and stories, from Medusa to Sherlock Holmes, retold from the villains' points of view by teams of authors and "BookTubers."

McMillan Palgrave

A New York Times Bestseller

Leave it to the heroes to save the world--villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains' points of view.

These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like "Medusa," Sherlock Holmes, and "Jack and the Beanstalk" provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains' acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage--and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

Featuring writing from . . .

Authors: Renée Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon

BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoë Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel).


This edgy anthology teams up acclaimed YA authors and popular YouTubers to create 13 fairy tales and 13 inspired works--all from a "villain's" perspective, in the vein of Maleficent or Wicked.

Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury, 2017
ISBN: 9781681193649
Branch Call Number: YA FIC BEC
Characteristics: 353 p. ;,25 cm.
Additional Contributors: Ameriie

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
ayushi190
Oct 22, 2017

HANDS down, one of the best books I’ve ever read. This books gives you an insight of how your classic stories would be if the villain was the protagonist. After all, no one is ever the villain of their own story. My favourites were The Sea Witch (but I might be biased because MARISSA MEYER), Death Knell- Victoria Schwab and Sera by Nicola Yoon. I won’t spoil anything but let me just say, if you’re a person who likes backstories and ever find yourself rooting for the Villain, this is definitely the book for you!

sarahbru17 Oct 16, 2017

I skipped around to some of the stories that caught my attention, so here's what I read:
"The Sea Witch" by Marissa Meyer
"Gwen and Art and Lance" by Soman Gwen Chainani
"Shirley and Jim" by Susan Dennard

PinesandPrejudice Aug 15, 2017

What a waste of my life. Don't bother with this book. There is maybe one, two good stories out of here but even those are hardly worth it. It's a shame because I like these authors and I like these booktubers and while this may be have been a good idea, the execution was poor.

Just, don't pick it up. There are better things to read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top