The Immortalists

The Immortalists

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
7
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A captivating family saga.”—The New York Times Book Review

“You won’t be able to put it down.”The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)

“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—People Magazine (Book of the Week)


“A sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a “great new talent.”

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?


It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Baker & Taylor
Sneaking out to get readings from a traveling psychic reputed to be able to tell customers when they will die, four adolescent siblings from New York City's 1969 Lower East Side hide what they learn from each other before embarking on five decades of respective experiences shaped by their determination to control fate. By an award-winning author.

Baker
& Taylor

Sneaking out to get readings from a traveling psychic reputed to be able to tell customers when they will die, four adolescent siblings from New York City's Lower East Side embark on five decades of experiences shaped by their determination to control fate.

Publisher: New York :, G. P. Putnam's Sons,, [2018]
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780735213180
Branch Call Number: FIC BEN
Characteristics: 343 pages ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
mjk236sb
Feb 15, 2018

Very interesting concept - children learning when they would die. Intriguing to follow them as they begin their journey. Makes you think how you would live your life if you were put in that situation. Such different people - and it was so interesting to see the interactions with the siblings as they grow and move towards there designated times. Very well done.

kirstd31 Feb 12, 2018

This book was so interesting and intense. I could not put it down. I had to see what happened to the main characters. The story line was very thought provoking. What would you do if someone told you the day you were going to die?

AL_LESLEY Feb 08, 2018

A fascinating look into the minds of 4 siblings and their personal struggles with knowing the exact dates of their deaths. What I appreciated even more are the less remarked upon themes of selfishness, suffering and grief. Each story is unique and well crafted.

JCLGreggW Jan 25, 2018

Intense, thoughtful, and elegant, Benjamin's novel about brothers and sisters in who discover the date of their deaths from a mysterious woman. Full of richly described characters who struggle with their comforting (or terrifying) knowledge, your book group absolutely NEEDS this.

d
darladoodles
Jan 09, 2018

The artwork on the cover is beautiful and evokes many of the same feelings as the prose inside the book.

This story fascinated me. Do you live your life differently if you know the day of your death? Or, as the fortune teller claims are you the same person all of your life and knowing what type of person you are helps her to tell you the day of your death?

After Varya, Daniel, Klara and Simon visit the fortuneteller the book focuses on each of them as they live their lives in the light of that knowledge. The prose is beautiful, but I was reminded of the wise man in Ecclesiastes. It seemed that they were striving after the wind (Ecc 1:14). As we read their stories, we realize that though they believe they have some sense of control over their lifespan, they do not live well in the knowledge. There is much to ponder here and this book would be an excellent choice for a book group.

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12 (ESV)

o
OPL_ErinD
Dec 19, 2017

Each of the four Gold children has been given their day of death by a neighborhood mystic. Simon, the youngest, decides to live while he can; Klara searches for something more in the life of a magician and mentalist; Daniel chooses a seemingly safe and normal life as a military doctor; and Varya, the oldest, dedicates herself to the pursuit of extending the human life.

More than once I felt kind of broke open by this book. My connection to each of the Gold siblings was instant and deep, and I missed each of them when I had to put the book down. This is a profound story about family, human connection, grief and the question of whether we create or simply fulfill our fate.

OPLJessG Nov 15, 2017

How would you live your life if you knew when you were going to die? This thought-experiment is turned prophesy for the four Gold siblings, and the reader is whisked through time through pivotal moments in each of their lives. An excellent option for book clubs and discussions about family, faith, fate, and freedom of choice.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top