I'm Awake!

I'm Awake!

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
A hilarious must-read this Father's Day for kids who like to get up in the wee hours of the morning and for parents who long to sleep in, perfect for fans of Goodnight Already!
 
Both children and adults will relate to this send-up of early risers and the parents who—yawn!—love them. Kids love to get up early—really early, before the sun is up early, before the newspaper is delivered early. Parents don’t love getting up quite so early. But that doesn’t stop this energetic, young hamster from trying to wake up Dad at the crack of dawn. Maybe Dad can figure out a way to get his child to sleep in?


"Sure to gather fans in its wake."--Kirkus Reviews

"Eaton’s drawings have as much energy as his young hero, and the divide between the protagonist’s innocence and the chaos he leaves in his wake creates comedy that kids and adults can appreciate equally."--Publishers Weekly

"Preschoolers and parents alike will relate to this humorous story of an energetic little one trying to wake his sleepy father."--School Library Journal

Baker & Taylor
An ode to children who like to get up in the wee hours of the morning long before their overtired parents is told through the misadventures of an energetic little hamster, who watches the sunrise and notes the arrival of the newspaper while his dad struggles to return them both to sleep. Simultaneous eBook.

Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2017
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780375845758
Branch Call Number: JX FIC EAT
Characteristics: 1 v. (unpaged) :,col. ill. ;,21 x 27 cm.
Alternative Title: I am awake

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
mistystarvmarie
Jul 31, 2017

My 6- and 4-year-olds loved this book ("Give it a 5, Mom!"), but I really didn't like to read it much, so I averaged our ratings. My younger child had fun counting all the cats that were licking up the mess that the hamster kid made while his parents continued to sleep. My older child liked to explain what happened in each picture (since they add more meaning than the words do). I must say I've used the strategy that the dad hamster does at the end of the book. Haha. Over all an enjoyable read, but not one I wanted to read 15 times in a row.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top