Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions

Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
Gardners
The perfect summer read set on the Mediterranean island of Sicily - perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Inspector Montalbano

Publisher: London : John Murray, 2017, c2015
ISBN: 9781473655195
Branch Call Number: MYSTERY GIO
Characteristics: 329 p. ;,20 cm.
Additional Contributors: Brownjohn, John - Translator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
B00ksRcool
Mar 13, 2018

I just want to begin with "there is only one Grandma Mazur." I was hoping that Auntie Poldi character would be equal with Evanovich's Stephanie Plums grandmother. Not so much. The characters are fine but the book is written by a nephew of Poldi's and at times is difficult to switch back and forth. It took until the 4th chapter of the book to really get interesting. To be fair as well, the book is originally written in Italian and I just don't know enough about that particular culture. I'd suggest starting at chapter 4... you can always go back and read the first three chapters later!

c
carolefort
Jan 22, 2018

This mystery is narrated by the nephew of Auntie Poldi, a sixty-year-old retiree from Munich who has decided that Sicily will be ideal for her quiet, alcohol-imbued retirement. However, life changes unexpectedly when her handyman is murdered and our heroine becomes an amateur sleuth. Her meddling ways cause problems for the police officer charged with the investigation. And she also makes a nuisance of herself with the individuals that she suspects of the murder. This mystery flows well and is often quite amusing. A most enjoyable read.

i
imagenel
Apr 13, 2017

A deliciously comic Bavarian ├ęclair/Sicilian arancino propelled by a whodunit NOT involving the Mafia... Instead of the numbered chapters, the old-fashioned headings give the readers a synopsis of what's to come yet without revealing too much. Expertly translated from German to English. No threat for fans of Camilleri, this is the author's first in a series to come.

h
hilln
Apr 01, 2017

What an enjoyable book this is! The character of Auntie Poldi is feisty, smart and her own woman. She makes a wonderful detective -- persistent, creative, brave and a bender/breaker of rules. The Sicilian setting is idyllic, the characters memorable and the plot line ingenious. There is a subtle humour running through this story that consistently delights. It also makes me want to book the next Alitalia flight out to Sicily! Bravo to author Mario Giordano. Cannot wait for the English translations of the other books in this series. Enjoy!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top