Forever, or A Long, Long Time

Forever, or A Long, Long Time

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Having shared so many foster homes that they are unable to trust that the family that has adopted them will last, Flora and her brother, Julian, are assisted by their new mother on a journey to resolve their past so that they can build a future.

HARPERCOLL

From rising new talent Caela Carter, author of My Life with the Liars, comes an achingly beautiful and endearing story about two foster children who want desperately to believe that they’ve found their forever home. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach Me, Leslie Connor’s All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook, and Sarah Pennypacker’s Pax.

Flora and her brother, Julian, don’t believe they were born. They’ve lived in so many foster homes, they can’t remember where they came from. And even now that they’ve been adopted, Flora still struggles to believe in forever. So along with their new mother, Flora and Julian begin a journey to go back and discover their past—for only then can they really begin to build their future.



Baker
& Taylor

Having shared so many foster homes that they are unable to trust that the family that has adopted them will last, Flora and her little brother, Julian, are assisted by their new mother on a journey to resolve their past so that they can begin to build a future. Simultaneous eBook. 30,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Harper, c2017
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780062385680
Branch Call Number: J FIC CAR
Characteristics: 309 p. ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Chapel_Hill_KrystalB Jul 20, 2017

This book. I cried, I laughed, I stewed, and I melted. It's about two foster siblings who just cannot possibly believe that they were born into this world. They have no pictures or memories to prove it, and besides, to be born means having a mother and what mother would leave her children? Instead they have creative and beautiful theories of how they came to be. For them, coming to understand their past (that they were born just like everyone else) and their present (that a loving forever family can be their actuality) is extremely difficult. But they are brave enough to try… and we are lucky to see their journey unfold. My favorite middle grade read so far this year.

m
marthabwaters
Mar 01, 2017

I loved this one, a lot. It's the story of two kids who spent their first 10-ish years in foster care, who are finally living with adoptive parents and trying to learn more about their past. And it's just so lovely. It reminds me a lot of last year's (very good) "When Friendship Followed Me Home", but this one worked better for me than that one did, for reasons that I can't quite put my finger on. Carter really excels at developing the relationships between Flora and Julian and their adoptive family, and there was nothing about this that ever felt forced or unnatural to me. Every single character in the book felt well-crafted and real. AND IT MADE ME CRY. I loved it; you should read it.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top