Train I Ride

Train I Ride

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Taking a train journey from her elderly grandmother's home in California to live in Chicago with an unknown relative, young Rydr holds a suitcase filled with memories and bonds with fellow passengers while seeking the hope and forgiveness she needs to start over. A first book. Simultaneous eBook. 25,000 first printing.

HARPERCOLL

4 starred reviews! "Heartbreaking, hilarious, and life-affirming" (Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson and Threads)

Rydr is on a train heading east, leaving California, where her gramma can’t take care of her anymore, and traveling to Chicago, to live with an unknown relative. She brings with her a backpack, memories both happy and sad, and a box containing something very important.

As Rydr meets her fellow passengers and learns their stories, her own story begins to emerge. It’s one of sadness and heartache, and one Rydr would sometimes like to forget.

But as much as Rydr may want to run away from her past, on the train she finds that hope and forgiveness are all around her, and most importantly, within her, if she’s willing to look for it.

From Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Paul Mosier comes a poignant story about a young girl’s travels by train from Los Angeles to Chicago in which she learns along the way that she can find family wherever she is. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Sharon Creech.



Baker
& Taylor

Traveling from California to Chicago after her mother dies of a drug overdose and her grandmother of lung cancer, thirteen-year-old Rydr meets other passengers on the train and attempts to accept her own situation.

Publisher: New York : Harper, c2017
ISBN: 9780062455734
Branch Call Number: J FIC MOS
Characteristics: 181 p. ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Ms_Gaye Oct 27, 2017

With her mother and grandmother both dead, Rydr finds herself on a train heading east, experiencing a series of emotions as she heads toward an uncertain future to live with a relative she’s never met. Her train ride turns out to be mentally agonizing yet curative.
Mosier has created a character who seems real with her conflicting emotions. I felt like I was riding along with Rydr, wincing at her pain and smiling at her hopeful moments. A great character-based title for grades 4-7.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top