All That Man Is

All That Man Is

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
Shortlisted for the 2016 Man Booker Prize

A brilliantly observed, large-hearted work of fiction that introduces to a North American audience a major and mature literary talent. For readers of David Bezmozgis, Nathan Englander, Neil Smith, John Cheever, and Milan Kundera. 
 
Nine men. Each of them at a different stage of life, each of them away from home, and each of them striving – in the suburbs of Prague, beside a Belgian motorway, in a cheap Cypriot hotel – to understand just what it means to be alive, here and now. 


 
Tracing an arc from the spring of youth to the winter of old age, All That Man Is brings these separate lives together to show us men as they are – ludicrous and inarticulate, shocking and despicable; vital, pitiable, hilarious, and full of heartfelt longing. And as the years chase them down, the stakes become bewilderingly high in this piercing portrayal of twenty-first-century manhood.



Publisher: Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, c2016
ISBN: 9780771078002
Branch Call Number: FIC SZA
Characteristics: 437 p. ;,21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
cokie28
Jun 04, 2017

While some reviewers call this a novel, I say it is a collection of short stories--interrelated in that each is about a man with needs or desires, including youth, money, love, and power. This is not a new idea. As has been noted, the book is readable, but my time could have been better spent.

s
santiano9
Dec 11, 2016

Excellent series of stories about men at different stages of their lives. The author captures daily life beautifully while fitting in larger life themes and making them relevant to both men and women of all ages. A good book and one I would recommend.

u
uncommonreader
Nov 06, 2016

These nine novellas/short stories are about men from youth to old age, from various classes, set across Europe. They are mostly lonely people, often not nice people, but portrayed with sympathy. Szalay 's idea of representing "all that man is" in this way is inventive and clever. The book is very readable.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top