The Incorruptibles

The Incorruptibles

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Gardners
On the edges of the Empire, life is hard - and men must be harder. Gritty fantasy perfect for fans of Abercrombie's RED COUNTRY or Mark Lawrence's PRINCE OF THORNS.

Independent Publishing Group
In the contested and unexplored territories at the edge of the Empire, a boat is making its laborious way up stream. Riding along the banks are the mercenaries hired to protect it - from raiders, bandits and, most of all, the stretchers, elf-like natives who kill any intruders into their territory. The mercenaries know this is dangerous, deadly work. But it is what they do.

In the boat the drunk governor of the territories and his sons and daughters make merry. They believe that their status makes them untouchable. They are wrong. And with them is a mysterious, beautiful young woman, who is the key to peace between warring nations and survival for the Empire. When a callow mercenary saves the life of the Governor on an ill-fated hunting party, the two groups are thrown together.

For Fisk and Shoe - two tough, honourable mercenaries surrounded by corruption, who know they can always and only rely on each other - their young companion appears to be playing with fire. The nobles have the power, and crossing them is always risky.

And although love is a wonderful thing, sometimes the best decision is to walk away. Because no matter how untouchable or deadly you may be, the stretchers have other plans.

Publisher: London : Gollancz, c2014
ISBN: 9780575123328
Branch Call Number: FANTASY JAC
Characteristics: 306 p. :,map ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
Kyanite
Dec 16, 2015

The description for this book really doesn't do it justice. Imagine a world where the Roman Empire never fell and went on to become a major colonial power, controlling much of what is now America and establishing trade routes all the way to East Asia. The Empire's power is largely based on its discovery of a way to harness and use power from supernatural sources for locomotion and as a weapon. Also imagine that when the Romans reached the new world, they didn't find humans living there, but rather at least two sentient, humanoid races, one of which proved friendly enough, the other extremely hostile. Now, the Roman Empire isn't the only European powerhouse, and the story revolves around a quest to thwart a rival's bid for more power and to prevent a war. The book mashes together many different familiar elements: our hero is a diminutive fellow who most seem to underestimate; there's exiled nobility and incognito royalty; the good guys must make a long journey through dangerous lands; there's an inhuman enemy; the good guys face struggles, both external and internal, against evil forces; and characters have crises of religious faith. It's like Jacobs just threw as many crazy things together as possible and mixed them all up. And surprisingly, it really works. If you're looking for something different, give this a try. It's the first book in a planned series.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top