Sweetshop of Dreams

Sweetshop of Dreams

A Novel With Recipes

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
Baker & Taylor
After arriving in the country to care for her injured great aunt, Rosie finds herself falling under the spell of the village and the people there, especially a mysterious, solitary man, Stephen, who's bitterly healing from an injury himself.

Sourcebooks Inc.

"Sheer indulgence from start to finish." — Sophie Kinsella

Rosie Hopkins thinks leaving her busy London life, and her boyfriend Gerard, to sort out her elderly Aunt Lilian s sweetshop in a small country village is going to be dull. Boy, is she wrong.

Rosie's life is...comfortable. And even though she might like to pursue a more rewarding career, and Gerard doesn't seem to have any plans to propose, Rosie's not complaining. Things could be worse. Right?

Lilian Hopkins has spent her life running Lipton's sweetshop, through wartime and family feuds. When her great—niece Rosie arrives to help her with the shop, Lillian struggles with the idea that it might finally be time to settle up, and wrestles with the secret history hidden behind the jars of beautifully colored sweets.

But as Rosie gets Lilian back on her feet, breathes a new life into the candy shop, and gets to know the mysterious and solitary Stephen-whose family seems to own the entire town-she starts to think that settling for what's comfortable might not be so great after all.

A charming, heartwarming story of nostalgic sweets and finding yourself, fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Weiner and Jill Mansell will be craving sweets and a romance of their own.

Other books by Jenny Colgan:
Meet Me At The Cupcake Café — "A hilarious, fast—paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable." — Booklist
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris — A heartwarming and bittersweet story of love lost and found
Sweetshop of Dreams — A charming story of nostalgic sweets and finding yourself in unexpected places

What reviewers are saying about Sweetshop of Dreams:

"delightful confection of a book" — Booklist

"Colgan's sweet tale is filled with humor, family, friendship and love...a fun, heartwarming book." —RT Book Reviews

"...a charming little tale of love and family." — Shelf Awareness for Readers

"full of charm" — A Bookish Affair

"a wonderful treat" — Charming Chelsey's



Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Landmark, c2014
ISBN: 9781402281839
Branch Call Number: FIC COL
Characteristics: vi, 422 p. ;,21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Katherine_A May 28, 2019

Jenny Colgan is my go to author when I need something fun to read. The majority of the story takes place in current day England. Rosie leaves London to help her Grandmother Lilian down in Lipton England. Rosie works hard to restore her aunts closed up Sweetshop. She makes friends and has some "fun" adventures along the way. There are flashbacks to WWII and those parts of the story are sad. Overall a delightful read.

g
Gerry_21
Oct 18, 2018

A nice story with added information of our favourite sweets and a few recipes as well! :-) A good read - recommended!

CRRL_MegRaymond Jan 23, 2018

Boring is good, right? Steady job, steady beau, nice apartment. Rosie thought so, until she leaves it all to go nurse her great-aunt Lilian.

LaughingOne Oct 10, 2014

You have to pay attention to light, hard-to-read years stuck at the beginning of some sections of the story because some of the story is set during WW2 and the rest is set in 2012. I did quite like the stories once I figured out what year I was in. Rosie and her great aunt Lillian are more alike than they would admit. It was lovely watching/reading about Rosie's metamorphosis from pale, rushed city woman to blooming, ever-independent country town woman. Great story!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top