Wife 22

Wife 22

A Novel

Downloadable Audiobook - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
Random House, Inc.
For fans of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.Maybe it was those extra five pounds I'd gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other.   But when the anonymous online study called "Marriage in the 21st Century" showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn't long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).   And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.   7. Sometimes I tell him he's snoring when he's not snoring so he'll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself. 61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man's children. 67. To not want what you don't have. What you can't have. What you shouldn't have. 32. That if we weren't careful, it was possible to forget one another.   Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor's appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions.   But these days, I'm also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I'll have to make a decision—one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I'm too busy answering questions.   As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.From the Hardcover edition.

Baker & Taylor
Baring her soul in an anonymous survey for a marital happiness study, Alice catalogues her stale marriage, unsatisfying job, and unfavorable prospects and begins to question virtually every aspect of her life.

Random House Digital
For fans of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.Maybe it was those extra five pounds I'd gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other.  But when the anonymous online study called "Marriage in the 21st Century" showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn't long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).  And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.  7. Sometimes I tell him he's snoring when he's not snoring so he'll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself. 61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man's children. 67. To not want what you don't have. What you can't have. What you shouldn't have. 32. That if we weren't careful, it was possible to forget one another.  Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor's appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions.  But these days, I'm also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I'll have to make a decision--one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I'm too busy answering questions.  As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.From the Hardcover edition.

Findaway World Llc

For fans of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.

Maybe it was those extra five pounds I'd gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other.

But when the anonymous online study called "Marriage in the 21st Century" showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn't long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).

And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.

7. Sometimes I tell him he's snoring when he's not snoring so he'll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself.
61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man's children.
67. To not want what you don't have. What you can't have. What you shouldn't have.
32. That if we weren't careful, it was possible to forget one another.

Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor's appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions.

But these days, I'm also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I'll have to make a decision-one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I'm too busy answering questions.

As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.



Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, 2012
ISBN: 9780307990594
Characteristics: 1 online resource :,digital.
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc
Alternative Title: Wife twenty-two

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mgermann
Oct 29, 2014

I listened to the audio book and maybe that made it more painful, listening to the narrator read out the email addresses and facebook chat handles over and over again, making this book 25% longer than it had to be, if it weren't already excruciatingly long. You should feel free to skip this book.

The main character is admonished by her playwright mentor "people don't really talk like that!" over and over again, and honestly, I kept thinking "people really think like that!" and "people don't really act like that!" The main character Alice Buckle seems like a nut, a busybody, online time-waster, an obsessive weirdo. I was surprised she had a nice and normal friend like Nedra who might have been a good character to meet.

I feel sad about wasting so much time just to know what happens at the end of the book.

s
SuzeParker
Aug 10, 2013

Twenty years into their marriage, William and Alice have grown apart, as often happens. So, as a story of modern marriage, Wife 22 works reasonably well. On the other hand, the premise (and I had the twist at the end figured out well before it occurred in the story) is pretty unrealistic. And, as is typically my experience with chick lit, I wanted to tell Alice to grow up and act like an adult.

s
SPL_Laura
Sep 20, 2012

I was very disappointed in this book, I expected more depth. The story is sweet and arguably predictable, a light read, excellent for the beach or a quiet weekend. I don't think I'll reach for this author again but audiobook was good company for commuting to work and I did laugh out loud a few times. If you like chic lit you may enjoy this book, perhaps I'm simply too young to truly appreciate the drama of a two-decade long marriage...

j
JudithE
Aug 18, 2012

Sweet, really.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top