Summer Lies

Summer Lies

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.

From Bernhard Schlink, the internationally best-selling author of The Reader, come seven provocative and masterfully calibrated stories. A keen dissection of the ways in which we play with truth and less-than-truth in our lives. Summer Lies brims with the delusions, the passions, the outbursts, and the sometimes irrational justifications people make within a mélange of beautifully rendered relationships. In ”After the Season,” a man falls quickly in love with a woman he meets on the beach but wrestles with his incongruous feelings of betrayal after he learns she’s rich. In “Johann Sebastian Bach on Ruegen,” a son tries to put his resentment toward his emotionally distant father behind him by proposing a trip to a Back festival but soon realizes, during his efforts to reconnect, that it wasn’t his father who was the distant one. A philandering playwright is accused to infidelity by his wife in “The Night in Baden-Baden,” but he sees her accusations as nothing more than a means to exculpate himself of his guilt as he carries on with his ways. And in “Stranger in the Night,” an obliging professor becomes an accomplice—not entirely unwittingly—to the temporary escape of a charismatic fugitive on a delayed flight from New York to Frankfurt.

The truth, as once character puts it, is “passionate, beautiful sometimes, and sometimes hideous, it can make you happy and it can torture you, and it always sets you free.” Tantalizingly, so is the act of telling a lie—to others and to ourselves.

Baker & Taylor
A collection of seven short stories that examine the ways in which we play with truth and less-than-truth in our lives.

& Taylor

An anthology of seven provocative tales by the best-selling author of The Reader explores the impact of truthfulness and lies on human emotions and includes the stories, "After the Season," "Johann Sebastian Bach on Ruegen" and "The Night in Baden-Baden." 30,000 first printing.
An anthology of seven provocative tales explores the impact of truthfulness and lies on human emotions and includes "After the Season," "Johann Sebastian Bach on Ruegen," and "The Night in Baden-Baden."

Publisher: New York : Pantheon Books, c2012
ISBN: 9780307907264
Branch Call Number: FIC SCH
Characteristics: 229 p. ;,22 cm.
Additional Contributors: Janeway, Carol Brown


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Dec 18, 2013

This book by contemporary German writer Bernhard Schlink, translated into English, is a collection of several short stories on woman-man relationship. It is about love, betrayal and, as the title suggests, lies told in the name of love. One story also dealt with impending death and one man's way of dealing with it. Some stories are better than the others. In general it is fairly interesting, easy reading.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at FVRL

To Top