The Patrol

The Patrol

Seven Days in the Life of A Canadian Soldier in Afghanistan

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
3
2
Rate this:
HARPERCOLL

"Nothing can prepare a person for the reality of bloody, concussive warfare. . . . Those who like war are aptly named warriors. Some, like me, are fated never to be warriors, as we are more afraid of war than fascinated by it. But I have the consolation that I have walked with warriors and know what kind of men and women they are. I will never be a warrior, but I have known war.” (The Patrol)

In 2008, Ryan Flavelle, a reservist in the Canadian Army and a student at the University of Calgary, volunteered to serve in Afghanistan. For seven months, twenty-four-year-old Flavelle, a signaller attached to the Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, endured the extreme heat, the long hours and the occasional absurdity of life as a Canadian soldier in this new war so far from home. Flavelle spent much of his time at a Canadian Forward Operating Base (FOB), living among his fellow soldiers and occasionally going outside the wire. For one seven-day period, Flavelle went into Taliban country, always walking in the footsteps of the man ahead of him, meeting Afghans and watching behind every mud wall for a sign of an enemy combatant.

The Patrol is a gritty, boots-on-the-ground memoir of a soldier’s experience in the Canadian Forces in the twenty-first century. In the tradition of Farley Mowat’sThe Regiment and James Jones’ The Thin Red Line, this book isn’t merely about the guns and the gloryit is about why we fight, why men and women choose such a dangerous and demanding job and what their lives are like when they find themselves back in our ordinary world.



Publisher: Toronto : HarperCollins, c2011
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9781443407175
Branch Call Number: 958.1047 FLA
Characteristics: xvii, 251 p. :,ill., maps ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kb456
May 01, 2016

I have to agree with the previous two commenters. This well-written book gives a snapshot of what a 7-day patrol for Canadian soldiers in Afghanistan was like. Perceptive, thoughtful, and nuanced, the author somehow manages to weave his own observations and thoughts, interesting details on daily life, and background and a bit of history to show the reader what it's like to patrol rural Afghanistan. By far one of the best books on the war in Afghanistan. It was good enough to be re-read!

c
ccmm
Sep 11, 2012

What an amazing book!

b
bfowler
Dec 21, 2011

The author, a young reserve soldiers from Alberta, volunteers to go on a tour with the regular forces in Afghanistan. This book is his account of a 7-day patrol that his company took from FOB Masum Ghar to the heart of Taliban country at the village of Musan. He shares his thoughts and emotions with the reader, giving you the feeling of what it is like to experience being in Afghanistan with the Canadian army.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

k
kb456
May 24, 2016

kb456 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

c
ccmm
Sep 23, 2012

ccmm thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top