A Bitter Truth

A Bitter Truth

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
9
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
A battlefield nurse during World War I, Bess Crawford, returning to London for a well-earned Christmas leave, finds her holiday fraught with mystery and murder when she agrees to help a bruised and battered woman return to her small village in Sussex. 75,000 first printing.

HARPERCOLL

“Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”
New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens

“Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”
Washington Times

Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.



Baker
& Taylor

A battlefield nurse during World War I, Bess Crawford, returning to London for a well-earned Christmas leave, finds her holiday fraught with mystery and murder when she agrees to help a bruised and battered woman return to her small village in Sussex.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, 2011
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780062015709
Branch Call Number: MYSTERY TOD
Characteristics: 340 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
DorisWaggoner
Mar 08, 2016

Bess returns home for Christmas leave in a cold storm, to find a shivering woman huddled in her doorway. She invites her in for tea, to at least warm up. The upper class woman has a black eye, and under Bess's gentle questioning, she admits her husband hit her and she ran away. This simple story leads not just to a mystery, but a murder. To resolve the mystery, Bess must do some sleuthing back in France. And the identity of the murderer is even more of a surprise than usual.

CRRL_VirginiaJohnson Jul 21, 2015

Another in a rewarding series of mysteries set in the Great War and featuring nurse (and lady) Bess Crawford.

j
jkeaton
May 17, 2013

The Todds are truly in their stride with this one - the clues are there, but extremely well hidden, and the vagueness and irrationality of World War I's military, social and economic conditions drive the plot forward in a satisfying way.

If you're a mystery buff, an Edwardian history junkie or just someone who enjoys seeing a strong woman coping with a 'man's world', you'll like this one.

TrishThompson Oct 28, 2012

A very good book! My mom got me reading these Bess Crawford mysteries and I really enjoy them- the WWI period comes to life with wonderful characters.

s
shapjul
Aug 20, 2012

I'm sorry to say that I think this series has grown weaker with this installment. I've been listening to them in order and enjoyed the first two but this one I found lacking. The characters--particularly Bess, our heroine--do things for little apparent reason. Bess is repeatedly imposed upon by others who are clearly manipulating her and this seems entirely out of character. I found it really frustrating--it's just a way of moving her to the next plot-point.

Were I actually reading it, I would surely skim to the end. Cannot do that when listening, but it's a measure of my frustration. (I wrote here as these points are really about the book itself and not the recording.)

l
LazyNeko
Feb 28, 2012

It starts off with a battered woman and then turns into a pleasant enough murder mystery in a lonely mansion with family secrets, but by the end, it's all over the place. The heroine goes off to war-torn France, comes back, and suddenly after a string of unbelievable events, the murderer is revealed to be someone out of left field. Meh.

s
sandfordross
Jan 30, 2012

It could probably be condensed into a book half the size. Pretty boring in spots and with very plastic characters. The mother and son writing team seem to be stuck in a very formulaic groove.

Much better British series are available (PD James, Reginald Hill, Colin Dexter etc.)

thunderingfox Dec 24, 2011

Not badly written but seems to never get to the point. The heroine is not really very interesting

bookfanatic1979 Sep 19, 2011

I think the authors have finally hit their stride with this series. There were some parts that required a bigger suspension of belief than usual, but once I got with the program it was a good story.

Quotes

Add a Quote

l
LazyNeko
Feb 28, 2012

"My dearest girl," he said gently, "your father is right, you are afraid of nothing. And that can be very dangerous, has anyone told you that?"

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top