Tender

Tender

A Cook and His Vegetable Patch

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.

A comprehensive, deeply personal, and visually stunning guide to growing and cooking vegetables from Britain’s foremost food writer, with more than 400 recipes and extensive gardening notes.

In the tradition of Roast Chicken and Other Stories comes Tender, a passionate guide to savoring the best the garden has to offer. An instant classic when it was first published in the UK,Tender is a cookbook, a primer on produce, and above all, a beloved author’s homage to his favorite vegetables. Slater’s inspired and inspiring writing makes this a book to sit with and savor as much as one to prop open in the kitchen. The chapters explore 29 vegetables and offer enticing, comforting recipes such as Potato Cakes with Chard and Taleggio, a Tart of asparagus and Tarragon, and Grilled Lamb with Eggplant and Za’atar. With wit, enthusiasm, and a charming lack of pretension, Slater champions vegetables—through hands-on nurturing in the garden and straightforward preparations in the kitchen—with this truly essential book for every kitchen library.



Baker & Taylor
""A comprehensive guide to growing and cooking vegetables, from Britain's foremost food writer"--Provided by publisher"--

Baker
& Taylor

"A comprehensive, deeply personal, and visually stunning guide to growing and cooking vegetables from Britain's foremost food writer, with more than 400 recipes and extensive gardening notes. In the tradition of Roast Chicken and Other Stories comes Tender, a passionate guide to savoring the best the garden has to offer. an instant classic when it was first published in the UK, Tender is a cookbook, a primer on produce, and above all, a beloved author's homage to his favorite vegetables. Slater's inspired and inspiring writing makes this a book to sit with and savor as much as one to prop open in the kitchen. The chapters explore 29 vegetables and offer enticing, comforting recipes such as Potato Cakes with Chard and Taleggio, a Tart of asparagus and Tarragon, and Grilled Lamb with Eggplant and Za'atar. With wit, enthusiasm, and a charming lack of pretension, Slater champions vegetables--through hands-on nurturing in the garden and straightforward preparations in the kitchen--with this truly essential book for every kitchen library"--
A guide to growing and cooking one's own vegetables includes more than 400 recipes--including Potato Cakes With Chard and Taleggio, Tart of Asparagus and Tarragon, Grilled Lamb With Eggplant and Za'atar and more--as well as extensive gardening notes.
A guide to growing and cooking one's own vegetables includes more than four hundred recipes along with gardening notes.

Publisher: Berkeley [CA] : Ten Speed Press, [2011]
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9781607740377
1607740370
Branch Call Number: 641.65 SLA
Characteristics: 618 p. :,col. ill. ;,25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
JuniperAvenue
Aug 06, 2012

A gorgeous book, with photographs that make you want to find some dirt to dig your fingers into. Didn't try any of the recipes -- but now I know why I haven't been successful growing carrots.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top