Chosen

Chosen

A Novel

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
Baker & Taylor
A young caseworker becomes increasingly entangled in the lives of adoptive and birth parents, with devastating results. It all begins with a fantasy: the caseworker in her "signing paperwork" charcoal suit, standing alongside beaming parents cradling their adopted newborn. It's this blissful picture that keeps Chloe Pinter, director of the Chosen Child's domestic-adoption program, happy while juggling the high demands of her boss and the incessant needs of both adoptive and biological parents. But the very job that offers her refuge from her turbulent personal life and Portland's winter rains soon becomes a battleground involving three very different couples. When a child goes missing, dreams dissolve into nightmares, and everyone is forced to examine what he or she really wants and where it all went wrong.--From publisher description.

HARPERCOLL

“Gritty and suspenseful, Chosen draws us into the obstacle-strewn path of domestic adoption.”
 —Juliette Fay, author of Shelter Me

A young caseworker increasingly entangled in the lives of adoptive and birth parents faces life-altering choices when an extortion attempt goes horribly wrong in Chosen. Written in the spirit of Jodi Picoult and Anna Quindlen, Chosen is an extraordinary debut novel from Chandra Hoffman that deals with the controversial subject of adoption while providing a riveting read that will equally ensnare lovers of suspense, domestic drama, and literary fiction.



Baker
& Taylor

Chloe Pinter, a Portland adoption caseworker, becomes increasingly involved in the lives of three couples, two of whom are expecting babies and one who is seeking to adopt, and must deal with the aftermath when a baby is kidnapped.
Chloe Pinter, a Portland adoption caseworker, becomes increasingly involved in the lives of three couples, two who are expecting babies and one who is seeking to adopt, and must deal with the aftermath when a baby is kidnapped. 35,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Harper, 2010
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780061974298
Branch Call Number: FIC HOF
Characteristics: 306 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
johnsonpl
Jul 22, 2012

I didn't enjoy this book but finished it nonetheless. From the author's notes, I understand that she was trying to write a book in shades of gray about adoption and both the birth and adoptive parents. I don't think she succeeded.
I didn't like the characters so it was hard to feel invested in them, or feel that their actions were realistic.
I was particularly annoyed by a major choice made by the main character at the end of the book as it seemed ridiculous given all that had come before.

JCLHelenH Feb 06, 2011

Fans of Picoult and Bohjalian might enjoy this story of an adoption case worker who gets too close to the families she's working with. This would be a great book discussion title, as it raises many questions about adoption processes for which there are no right answers.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top