My Dear I Wanted to Tell You

My Dear I Wanted to Tell You

A Novel

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
8
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
A story that intertwines the lives of two very different couples during World War I follows army soldier Riley as he fights for the love of Nadine despite a terrible injury, and Riley's commanding officer Peter Locke, who returns home from the war a bitter and scarred man.

HARPERCOLL

My Dear I Wanted to Tell You is one of those books that doesn’t leave you, and probably never will.”
—Jacqueline Winspear, New York Times bestselling author of the Maisie Dobbs novels

The onrush of World War I irrevocably intertwines the lives of two young couples in Louisa Young’s epic tale of love in the midst of chaos. Perfect for readers of Atonement, The Mapping of Love and Death, and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, Young’s moving novel of class struggles, star-crossed romance, and the grim reality of the battlefield is a stunning exploration of the devastating consequences, physical and spiritual, of a world enmeshed in Total War.



Baker
& Taylor

Intertwining the lives of two very different couples during World War I, this epic novel follows army soldier Riley as he fights for the love of Nadine despite a terrible injury, and his commanding officer Peter Locke, who returns home from the war a bitter and scarred man--one his wife doesn't recognize. 40,000 first printing.

Publisher: Toronto : HarperCollins, c2011
Edition: 1st Cdn. ed
ISBN: 9780061997143
Branch Call Number: FIC YOU
Characteristics: 330 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
bookishbee
Dec 23, 2017

One of the best books I’ve read about the First World War and it’s impact not only on soldiers but also nurses, doctors, family at home.

g
gvlee
Nov 21, 2013

The second half of the book is way better than the first half, so if you hang in there, you'll be rewarded. If you are interested in WW I stories, "A Long Long Way" by Sebastian Barry is even better.

d
DanceFiddler
Aug 17, 2013

Not sure how this ended up on a YA display shelf, since it’s most definitely adult fiction. However, I’m glad it did, or I wouldn’t have read it. Traces the story of two English couples during the Great War. The war changes each person irrevocably, separating and isolating them in their personal struggles. Gripping, moving, cynical and hopeful at once. It’s also interesting to read about the early days of plastic surgery.

n
nicolenozick
Jul 03, 2013

WWI British soldier, class issues. Well written. Not too original. Okay.

brendamargolis Feb 01, 2013

The kind of novel you're always searching for: smart, beautifully written, believable. Author skillfully balances joy and heartbreak.

j
Jellybean1985
Jul 03, 2012

Beautifully written! LOVE this book so much, I'll buy it to read again!

Infolass Jun 11, 2012

It look me a little while to warm to the characters, as they were developed in this novel set before and during World War 1, but I am glad I persisted enjoying the book by the end. Well written and obvious research by the author on war injuries and their treatments at the time.

r
ready2read
Jun 18, 2011

This book is about relationships and it is about war---And it is about relationships during war. It is definitely not pretty but it is startling and fascinating. Slow at first but once you know the characters it is hard to put down.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top