Humorists

Humorists

From Hogarth to Noel Coward

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
The 2006 Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient and author of Intellectuals presents a historical survey of Western culture's leading humorists in a variety of styles, evaluating the contributions of figures ranging from Benjamin Franklin and the Marx Brothers to W. C. Fields and James Thurber. 30,000 first printing.

HARPERCOLL

“It is Johnson’s gift that he can make his subjects human and fallible enough that we would…recognize them instantly, while also illuminating what made them heroes.” —Washington Post Book World on Heroes

“Johnson is a clear, intelligent, forceful writer, and nothing if not thorough.” —Wall Street Journal

Paul Johnson, the acclaimed author of Creators, Heroes, and the New York Times bestseller Intellectuals, returns with a captivating collection of biographical portraits of the Western world’s greatest wits and humorists. With chapters dedicated to history’s sharpest tongues and most piercing pens, including Benjamin Franklin, Toulouse-Lautrec, G.K. Chesterton, Damon Runyan, W.C. Fields, the Marx Brothers, and many more, Johnson’s Humorists is an exciting compendium of our most enduring comical and satirical innovators. 



Blackwell Publishing
The author of the masterly volumes Intellectuals, Creators, and Heroes returns with a collection of biographical portraits of the greatest humorists and wits in history.

In Intellectuals, Paul Johnson offered a fascinating portrait of the minds that have shaped the modern world. In Creators, he examined a host of outstanding and prolific creative spirits. And in Heroes, he brought together a galaxy of commanding figures from the annals of Western history. Now Johnson turns his impressive intellect and piercing insight to the finest wits of the Western world.

His is a selective survey across history and includes a diverse cast of legendary humorists who got a grand kick out of life, including Benjamin Franklin and the Marx Brothers, Charles Dickens and Damon Runyon, W.C. Fields and Samuel Johnson, William Hogarth and James Thurber. Including darkest humor, broad satire, bawdy wit, biting sarcasm, and more, this entertaining and erudite collection showcases some of our sharpest minds reflecting on the human condition's follies, pretensions, and foibles with that greatest of gifts: humor.

Baker
& Taylor

Presents profiles of the some of the notable humorists and wits of modern history, including William Hogarth, Charles Dickens, Charlie Chaplin, and James Thurber.
"In the tradition of Paul Johnson's Intellectuals, Creators, and Heroes, a new book of biographical portraits of the greatest humorists and wits in modern history"--

Publisher: New York : Harper, 2010
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780061825910
Branch Call Number: 809.7 JOH
Characteristics: xxvii, 228 p. ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top