In This Way I Was Saved

In This Way I Was Saved

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Witnessing the dissolution of his parents' marriage at the age of six, Luke Nightingale increasingly succumbs to a dangerously violent alter ego who makes cynical and cruelly perceptive observations about his fragile mother, suicide-victim grandmother, and other members of their privileged Central Park West family. 60,000 first printing.

Baker
& Taylor

Witnessing the failure of his parents' marriage, Luke Nightingale succumbs to a mysterious alter ego who makes disturbing observations about the fragile members of his privileged Central Park West family and assumes increasing control over his thoughts.

Simon and Schuster
From a powerful new voice in literary fiction comes an intense psychological thriller in the tradition of Donna Tartt, Stewart O’Nan, and Patrick McGrath, about a boy’s struggle with his inner demons.

• Exciting new literary talent: At just twenty-eight years old, Brian DeLeeuw has worked in publishing in both London and New York City, where he is an editor at the literary magazine Tin House. In This Way I Was Saved was acquired in a heated auction.

• Haunting subject: A dark, compelling story that skirts the edges of the supernatural, In This Way I Was Saved evokes the best in edgy psychological horror with overtones of eerie cerebral pyrotechnics. With its dense web of family secrets, its undercurrent of violence, and its brilliant evocation of a troubled young person’s point of view, it has earned comparisons to Donna Tartt.

• Compelling story: Set in the wealthy environs of New York City’s Central Park West, the story begins in 1994, when Luke Nightingale is six and his parents are finalizing their divorce. Luke’s fragile, volatile mother Claire is the last daughter of a crumbling blueblood family; her mother died by her own hand.

The novel is narrated by Luke’s cynical, cruelly perceptive, and sometimes dangerously violent alter ego Daniel—who could be Luke’s imaginary friend, or something else entirely, something implacable, murderous, and evil. A novel about mothers and sons, the dangers of the imagination, the precariousness of sanity, the terrors of childhood, and the temptations of power—In This Way I Was Saved is a stunning debut by a writer of limitless promise.

Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, c2009
Edition: 1st Simon & Schuster hardcover ed
ISBN: 9781439103135
Branch Call Number: FIC DEL
Characteristics: 294 p. ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
Miyalani
Oct 20, 2012

I can't remember how I stumbled about this book but I am very glad I did. Very much a character study but also a haunting mystery. Keeps you guessing untill the end.

2
22950006465686
Jan 31, 2011

I happened upon this book as I was browsing the shelves. I was pleasantly surprised by how creative and well written it was.

A truly unique book and worth a read. Lots of fodder for book club

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FVRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top