Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood

Book - 2005
Rate this:
McMillan Palgrave
This introduction covers Atwood's work from the end of the 1960s to the present, drawing out her recurring themes of Canadian identity and the wilderness, the representation of women and female bodies, and history and its narration. Winner of the Margaret Atwood Society Best Book in 1997, the second edition is thoroughly revised and updated. It includes new chapters covering Atwood's recent novels Alias Grace, The Blind Assassin, and Oryx and Crake, and her 2002 book on writing Negotiating with the Dead.

Book News
Atwood's work exists in a very peculiar place: it reads like literature, but it sells like popular fiction. Perhaps part of the secret is her choice of subjects, themes and genres, ranging from gothic to the darkest future, from autobiography-as-fiction to historical novels. Howells (English and Canadian literature, U. of Reading) works chronologically from the end of the 1960s to the present, noting Atwood's attention to Canada, the female body, and wilderness, which actually appear to be related themes, and the ways Atwood attenuates a genre almost, but not quite to the breaking point. Those only familiar with The Handmaid's Tale and The Blind Assassin will be startled by Atwood's earlier fiction and poetry as introduced by Howells. Annotation ©2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (

Publisher: New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2005
Edition: 2nd ed
ISBN: 9781403922014
Branch Call Number: 818.5409 HOW
Characteristics: x, 213 p. ;,23 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at FVRL

To Top